Rural Household Survey

Rural Household survey ( commanly also known as BPL survey) is the basis of selecting beneficiaries of many govt. programmes. Last survey listing was published in 2007 and on claims and objections the supplementary list was published in 2009.


MNREGA is the flagship programme of Rural Development Department. You can find here instructions, guidelines and status of implementation of NREGA in Munger district.

  1. Act and Guidelines
  2. MNREGA Act 2005
  3. Mahatma Gandhi NREGA Guidelines( English )
  4. Bharat Nirman Rajiv Gandhi Sewa Kendr a ( Advisory / Manual)
  5. Draft Guidelines for works on individual land (comments)

Indira Awas Yojana (IAY)

Indira Awas Yojana is the flagship programme of Rural Development Department. You can find here instructions, guidelines and status of implementation of IAY in Munger district.

The financial assistance provided for new construction in the form of full grant is Rs.45,000/- per unit for plain areas & Rs.48,500/- for hilly/difficult areas. Further, an IAY beneficiary can avail top-up loan upto Rs 20,000/- under the Differential Rate of Interest (DRI Scheme) from any Nationalized Bank at an interest rate of 4% per annum.

Identification of beneficiaries : The District Rural Development Agencies (DRDAs) on the basis of allocations made and targets fixed shall decide the number of houses to be constructed / upgraded Panchayat-wise under IAY, during a particular financial year. The same shall be intimated to the Gram Panchayat concerned. Thereafter, the beneficiaries, restricting to this number, will be selected from the Permanent IAY Waitlists prepared on the basis of BPL lists in order of seniority in the list. The Gram Panchayats may draw out the shelterless families from the BPL List strictly in the order of ranking in the list. A separate list of SC/ST families in the order of their ranks may be derived from the larger IAY list so that the process of allotment of 60% of houses under the scheme is facilitated. Thus, at any given time, there would be two IAY Waitlists for reference, one for SC/ST families and the other for non-SC/ST families. Once the lists are prepared, they need to be approved by the Gram Sabha to be attended by a government servant who would be a nominee of the Collector. Selection by the Gram Sabha is final. No approval by a higher body is required. Zilla Parishads/DRDAs and Block Development Offices should, however, be sent a list of selected beneficiaries for their information. The Permanent IAY Waitlists so prepared will be displayed at a prominent place either in the Gram Panchayat office or any other suitable place in the village.

Prioritisation of beneficiaries will be as follows:

  1. Freed bonded labourers
  2. SC/ST households
  3. SC/ST households who are victims of atrocity (SC/ST households, headed by widows and unmarried women, SC/ST households affected by flood, natural calamities like earthquake, cyclone and man-madecalamities like riot & Other SC/ST households)
  4. Families/widows of personnel from defence services/paramilitary forces, killed in action.
  5. Non- SC/ST BPL households.
  6. Physically and mentally challenged persons.
  7. Ex-servicemen and retired members of the paramilitary forces.
  8. Displaced persons on account of developmental projects, nomadic/semi-nomadic, and de-notified tribals, families with physically/mentally challenged members.
  9. The selection of the beneficiaries will be subject to the condition that the households of all the above categories except (iii) are Below Poverty Line (BPL)